Some alt text



Thank you for visiting HVM Racing

Enquiry Form

  1. Support Requests will only be answered via HVM Racing.
  • open panel
  • Decrease
  • Increase

HVM Racing

A brief look back at what made HVM a successful competitor

Summary HVM Racing has earned six victories, three pole positions, 22 podiums, 42 top-five finishes and 104 top-ten’s. The team also earned "Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year" honors with driver Simona De Silvestro in 2010. HVM finished fourth and third, respectively, in the Champ Car World Series in 2006 and 2007, and earned drivers Mario Dominguez and Robert Doornbos Rookie of the Year honors in 2002 and 2007, respectively.

HVM Racing & Andretti Autosport
2014 HVM and Andretti have continued their partnership in IndyCar, with the number 34 entry driven by Carlos Munoz.
2013 HVM joined forces with Andretti Autosport for its IndyCar entry, which was entered as Andretti-HVM Racing and again, E J. Viso took the driving seat. Seven top ten finishes and two top five’s were the season results.

HVM Status GP
Also in 2013, HVM entered into a partnership with Status GP, a well respected team of colleagues based in Silverstone, UK and together they entered the legendary Le Mans 24 Hour race in France, in the World Endurance Sports Car Championship with an LMP2 Lola/Judd. The new venture had an excellent start in testing and the program added a new dimension to HVM’s resources. A crash late into the night ended the teams race for 2013.

Lotus HVM
2012 New IndyCar rules, new chassis and new engines for 2012, saw HVM partner with the British car marquee, Lotus and again retained Simona. While a fully supported effort saw potential in early testing, financial troubles and then the sale of Lotus put development on hold and the engine was desperately uncompetitive. The season ended with a lot of discourse.
HVM Racing 2008 With the unification of ChampCar and IndyCar, the team returns to the HVM branding, joins the combined series and signs E J. Viso for a single car entry. The season ends with six top ten finishes, one top five finish and 23 laps lead.
2009 E J. Viso resigns with the team, Nelson Philippe rejoins the team for the Indy 500 and Robert Doornbos returns for the last four races of the season in a second car entry.
2010 HVM brings rising Formula Atlantic star Simona De Silvestro into IndyCar as a single car entry. Recording 2 top ten finishes, a sixth at Mid-Ohio and additionally 14th at her first Indianapolis 500, she becomes its ‘Rookie of the Year’.
2011 HVM retains Simona and she finishes 4th in the first round at St Petesburg and gets fastest lap in Brazil with an impressive performance after a crash at the first stage of the race. A horrific crash at Indianapolis and a concussion in Milwaukee makes the rest of the season a challenge.

HVM Team Minardi USA
2007 Under the Team Minardi USA banner, the organization celebrates two Champ Car World Series wins at Mont-Treblant and San Jose with driver Robert Doornbos (Netherlands). The team earns five additional podiums between Doornbos and driver Dan Clarke (England). Doornbos finishes third in championship points and wins Rookie of the Year honors.

HVM CTE Racing
2005 HVM Racing competes with mulitple drivers throughout the season. The years best finishes are at Las Vegas, when Roldofo Lavin and Bjorn Wirdheim finish fifth and sixth.
2006 The team competes as CTE Racing HVM under a partnership with actor/comedian Cedric the Entertainer. Driver Nelson Philippe (France) wins in Australia, finishes fourth in Champ Car points. The team scores three more podiums with Philippe and Dan Clarke (England) and a pole position by Clarke.
HVM Herdez Competition
2004 The highlight fo the season is a pole-to-finish win by driver Ryan Hunter-Reay (USA) at the Milwaukee Mile. Driver Mario Dominguez (Mexico) finishes fifth in the Champ Car points race with three podium appearances. The team races under the name Herdez Competition, named for its primary sponsor.
2003 The team's first year with two cars. Mario Dominguez and Robert Moreno (Brazil) celebrate a one-two finish at Miami, and Dominguez earns three addtional podiums.
2002 A year of two big wins for Mario Dominguez. The driver takes the checkered flag in Australia and the Rookie of the Year trophy at the season's end.
2001 Michel Jourdain Jr. (Mexico) takes the wheel for his second consecutive season with Herdez and earns a third-place finish at Michigan.
2000 The legacy begins when Keith Wiggins becomes co-owner, with Michel Jourdain Jr. at the wheel. Herdez earns a season-best 7th at Australia.